Scary Beautiful

Reverse high heels?  Are they really straight off the runway or from Lady Gaga’s closet next to her ‘meat’ dress?

On Wednesday morning I saw the most outrageous video on Canada AM. Airing between the quality lawn care section with Jeff Hutcheson and the previous night’s presidential debate with Beverly Thompson, I saw reverse high heels.

According to Fashionably Geek, these absurd high heel shoes were created by Leanie van der Vyver and Rene van den Berg. I don’t know what possessed them to make these torture devices, but clearly designers have never, and will never, walk a mile in this model’s shoes.

A major contributor in the marketing process is assessing customer needs. I would like to speak for myself and hopefully most women when I say, I am NEVER going to need to buy these shoes. Personally, I don’t need anything that this product has to offer. Fashion will have to wait this time.

They say beauty is pain and even I admit to wearing uncomfortable high heels, but these stilt walkers are an accident waiting to happen. Throughout the video you can see the model cringing in an ape-like stance, with each wobbling step.

 
If this is fashionable, then apparently I have it all wrong. I do not claim to be up to date on the latest trends, unless it is coming from the sale rack. Still, I can’t help but believe these shoes are not going to be seen on any human feet in the near future.

Ladies, we put ourselves through a lot of pain with tight dresses, plucking eyebrows, waxing legs, pinching shoes, all in the name of beauty. But at some point we all need to just say enough is enough! If these shoes are supposed to be “Scary Beautiful“, all I have to say is mission accomplished.

3 thoughts on “Scary Beautiful

  1. This video made me feel physically ill. What a dehumanizing thing to design for women. This woman looks like a slave stumbling under the weight of heavy chains in these shoes. Thanks for sharing this, Emily. Ugh!

  2. Great post! But is the goal of these runway shoes to entice “real women” to buy? Or just to attract attention? If it’s the latter, did they succeed?

Leave a comment